Missing My Cousin

Missing My Cousin

Dear Youth Ambassadors,
I recently had a cousin who passed away. We were very close. She was like a sister to me. She has been gone for 4 months, and it still doesn’t feel real. Her birthday is coming up. My family is going to visit her grave-site, but I’m not sure if I want to go. I don’t think I would be able to handle it, but at the end of the day, she still is my family, and you’re supposed to be there regardless. So I just need help making the decision to go or not to go.

Sincerely,
Missing My Cousin


Dear Missing My Cousin,
I also had a cousin who passed away. It’s been a year since she died. I feel your pain. I am so sorry for your loss. If you are afraid of breaking down, don’t be. It’s okay to cry. Most of all, it’s important to be there for her birthday. She’s in a better place, and she probably just wants you to be happy. Go to her grave and be with her. Wish her peace and happiness in heaven.

Sincerely,
A Friend


Dear Missing My Cousin,
I also lost a cousin about a year ago. We lived right next door to each other. She was older than me, so I would go to her for advice. Even though it can be hard to find closure, I think that you should visit her grave. I have a feeling that it would make her feel happy. I’m sure she would have done the same for you.

Sincerely,
Youth Ambassadors


Dear Missing My Cousin,
I’m sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine what you’re going through. I’ve lost family members that I barely knew, but I know that if I lost someone that I am close with I would at least want closure. It’s completely up to you if you want to go, but I think it would do you some good. I’m sure your cousin would want you to be happy and to live your life. So take as much time as you need to grieve. Being happy doesn’t mean you need to forget about her. Just take it one day at a time.

Sincerely,
You’ve Got A Friend

